Hall of Fame

Hall of Fame Arizona Fire Service Hall of Fame


Arizona Fire Service Hall of Fame
September 5, 2024

Established in 1998, the Arizona Hall of Fame recognizes individuals who have made a significant, positive contribution to the fire service and/or community, which brings credit to the fire service. Individuals nominated are evaluated based on their years of service, service on committees, state or national impact, educational impact, operational impact, contributions to community, organizational impact, legislative impact or other areas that clearly demonstrate the individual's significant contribution to Arizona's Fire Service.

Nominations require a detailed summary of the nominee's significant contributions. The focus of the nomination should be on the overall impact on the Arizona Fire Service. Nominations must clearly indicate an impact beyond the nominee's organization and must be beyond the normal job requirements of the nominee.

Those selected will be inducted into the Arizona Fire Service Hall of Fame during the Opening Ceremonies of the Arizona Fire School, to be held on September 5, 2024. Inductees will receive a personal commemorative plaque and are noted on the permanent Hall of Fame display plaque.

Hall of Fame plaques honoring each inductee are on display at the Hall of Flame Fire Museum,  located at 6101 E. Van Buren Street, Phoenix, AZ.



Click Here to print a Nomination Form


Since 1998 members of the Arizona State Fire Training Committee have received nominations and elected the following individuals to the Hall of Fame:

2023 Alfred Benjamin "Benny" Ashley Phoenix Fire Department
Bryan Jeffries Mesa Fire & Medical Department
Jim Morgan Pinetop Fire District
2022 Harry Beck Mesa Fire & Medical Department
Randy Karrer Golder Ranch Fire District
2021 Collin DeWitt Phoenix Fire Department / Gilbert Fire & Rescue Department
Will Loesche Golder Ranch Fire District
Mike McKendrick Tucson Fire Department
Larry Rooney Peoria Fire Department / Avondale Fire & Medical Department
2020 No Inductees No Inductees
2019 Robert "Bob" Barger Phoenix Fire Department / Office Of The Arizona State Fire Marshall
Stephen Jensen Phoenix Fire Department
Charles H. Kime Phoenix Fire Department
Randy Redmond Sierra Vista Fire Department
2018 Linda S. Kirby Phoenix Fire Department / Arizona Fire & Burn Educators Association
Mark Nichols Daisy Mountain Fire District
2017 Mark Burdick Glendale Fire Department
Jim Critchley Tucson Fire Department
2016 William"Bill" Lanford Buckeye Valley Fire District
2015 Jeff Piechura Northwest Fire District
Ricky Salyers Phoenix Fire Department
Mel Sorensen Mohave Valley Fire District / Phoenix Fire Department
2014 Paul Adams Avondale Fire & Medical Department
Michael Fusco Peoria Fire Department
Marco Olsen Tri-City Fire District
Bob Ross First Arizona State Fire Marshal
2013 G.G. (Jack) Holzner Phoenix Fire Department
Stephen L. Kreis Phoenix Fire Department
2012 Bob Costello Buckeye Fire Department / Office of the Arizona State Fire Marshal
2011 William M. "Mike" Casson Cottonwood Fire Department
Polly Elson Tucson Fire Department
Tom Harley First In, Inc.
Charles Osterman Kingman Fire Department
2010 Daniel Matlick United Fire Equipment
2009 Beverly Burns Tempe Fire Department
James D. Ford, Jr. Scottsdale Fire Department
Janet Lynn Hauk Buckeye Valley Fire District
2008 Richard K. "Dick" Bingham Office of the Arizona State Fire Marshal / Safford Fire Department
Paul Saunders Office of the Arizona State Fire Marshal / Phoenix Fire Department
2007 Daniel Uthe Tucson Fire Department
Bill White Ak-Chin Fire Department
2006 No Inductees No Inductees
2005 Tom Hand Mesa Fire Department
Bruce Thompson Sierra Vista Fire Department
Darrell Willis Prescott Fire Department
2004 Rick Lupe U.S. Forest Service
Tim McElwee Prescott Fire Department
Paul Watson Pinetop Fire District
2003 Gray Crabtree Glendale Fire Department
Carol Gross Phoenix Fire Department
Don Howard Summit Fire District
2002 Steve Alley Office of the Arizona State Fire Marshal / Phoenix Fire Department
Gary Ells Tempe Fire Department
2001 Mark Gaillard Goodyear Fire Department
James Grasham Northwest Fire District
2000 Alan Moritz Tucson Fire Department
Lou Witzeman Rural Metro Corporation
1999 Jim Burch Phoenix Fire Department / Bullhead City Fire Department
Irvin Talley Safford Fire Department
(Charter Year)
Gerry Bates Tucson Fire Department
Alan Brunacini Phoenix Fire Department
Pat Cantelme Phoenix Fire Department
Dennis Compton Phoenix Fire Department
E. A. Geare III Tucson Fire Department
William C. "Cliff" Jones Tempe Fire Department
William T. "Bill" Krushak U. S. Forest Service
J. Randall Ogden Tucson Fire Department
Ernie Smith Lake Havasu City Fire Department
F. W. "Bill" Wagner Bullhead City Fire Department
Robert J. Weber Lake Havasu City Fire Department